Welcome to the Opera


Our Mission–
Mission Statement: To bring professional opera productions that are understandable, accessible, and enjoyable to all the residents of El Paso, Texas and the surrounding communities; and to sponsor educational programs that will introduce both youth and adult populations to the world of great vocal music.

Chelsea Lamego–
Executive Director | Staff member | chelsea@epopera.org
Chelsea Lamego became executive director of the El Paso Opera in July of 2015. Ms. Lamego is a graduate student in the MBA program at the University of Texas at El Paso where she also earned a bachelor’s degree in business management with a concentration in entrepreneurship. In the past, she has worked in restaurant management property management.

David Holloway–
Artistic Director | Staff member | dholloway@epopera.org
Since 2005, David Holloway has served as the Director of the Santa Fe Opera's Apprentice Singer's Program, which was founded in 1957. The program is internationally recognized as one of the finest programs of its type. Each year, David Holloway works with a team to audition over 1000 singers for the Apprentice Singer's Program. He was previously the Head of Voice at Chicago College of Performing Arts where he served for eleven years. He sang seven seasons with the Metropolitan Opera in New York City, and for ten years, he was leading baritone at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf.

He sang the Toreador in Carmen two seasons at the Glyndebourne Opera Festival, a performance which was filmed and is available on DVD. He has sung with the New York City Opera and major opera companies across the United States with a repertoire of over seventy-five major roles. For Carmen, he will be collaborating with Robert Tweten, Head of Music Staff of the Santa Fe Opera.

Board of Trustees–
Robert Gonzalez

Past President
Michelle Levy

Michael Drapes

Stacey Hunt

Ben Gonzalez
Cecilia Uebel
Cynthia Henry
Diana Valdez
Joseph McCormack
Marcela Flores Fernandez
Richard Seges
Timothy Terell

Staff Members–
Director of Development
Amy Paoli

YAP & Community Engagement Director
Justin Lucero

Administrative Assistant
Mariana Sandoval

Guild Members
Jan Brady
Lou Ella Burmeister
Cecilia Carpio
Helen Davis
Cherry Duke
Susi Edwards
Karen Fraser
Shivahn Guerra
Margaret Hart-Zerboni
Boris Kaim
Fifi Kaim
Dr. Fay La Fon
Gloria Lavis
John Lavis
Linda McClain
Linda Medlock
Mary Jo Melby
Helen Mott
Patricia Palafox
Dr. Robert Postman
Ellen Saad
Wilma Salzman
Christine Sands
Lee Schwartz
Elenor Syzdek
Karen Syzdek-Vigil
Beatrice Ting

Advisory Board
Gloria Lavis
Helen Mott
John Colquitt
Marcela Panetta
Sara & Robert Shiloff
Wilma Salzman

El Paso Opera Foundation
Ernesto Herrera, President
Michael White, Vice President
Lesley Gosling, Secretary
Wilma Salzman, Treasurer
Jennifer Cedillo
Ricardo Fernandez

At El Paso Opera, our team is always creating new and exciting
ways to increase support and awareness for the El Paso Opera.

Monday-Friday 10am-4pm



Office Address: 601 N. Oregon Ste. 112
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 5106, El Paso, TX 79953


Where is el paso opera?...